Week Three: Flash

mack_flash-1

This was a last minute portrait that was accomplished with many thanks to my wonderful co-worker, Mackenzie. We ran outside after work where I wanted to use flash to offset the harshness of the sun and create a decent portrait. I handheld a LumiPro LP 180 manual flash, modified by a softbox from LumiQuest about three feet from Mackenzie. We tucked her down between a couple cars in the parking lot of Starbucks where I completely blacked out the exposure. I shot with the flash at full power to overpower the afternoon sun and so I could ensure catch lights in her eyes, and this is what we ended up with. In my opinion, not bad for an impromptu portrait session after an eight hour work day! Thanks again, Mackenzie! (Nikon D600, 85mm, f/16, 1/200s, ISO 100.)

Leave a comment