Week Five: Window Light and Candid Portraits

The first image is my beautiful wife. We’re expecting our first child in January, so I wanted to try and capture her looking forward to our future. I thought the window light portrait assignment would be a great time to finally get her to sit in front of the camera. I finally managed to capture a nice sunset in our northwest-facing nursery window, while in days previous I was fighting cloudy skies which gave the expectant mother portrait an ominous feeling. (Nikon D600, 85mm, f/1.8, 1/30s, ISO 800, gold reflector fill.)

The second image is a candid shot I made of our professor for the class. This was during our initial trip to City Sprouts for our class service learning project. I figured this would be a great addition for my candid shot, as it manages to capture not only Professor Bowen enjoying the garden, but it also the theme of our class this semester. (Nikon D600, 70-200mm @ 200mm, f/5.6, 1/2000s, ISO 400.)

Leave a Reply

